Upcoming Events:

  • 2017 Bill N. Baron Fellowship Award Solicitation for Nominations
    Deadline: March 6, 2017
    View Announcement
Karl W. Böer

The Karl W. Boer Solar Energy Medal


Dr. Goswami was presented the award on Friday, September 23, 2016 for his outstanding contributions to renewable energy including reducing costs and developing efficient, effective storage methods for solar energy as well as harnessing solar energy as a catalyst to address environmental problems.


The medal will be awarded to an individual who has made significant pioneering contributionsin solar energy, wind energy, or other forms of renewable energy as an alternate source of energy through research, development, or economic enterprise, or to an individual who has made extraordinary valuable and enduring contributions to the fields ofsolar energy, wind energy, or other forms of renewable energy in other ways.


The Award Committee is composed of the presidents of the International Solar Energy Society, the American Solar Energy Society, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the American Physical Society, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers, the Director of the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, the U.S. Secretary of Energy, or their designated representatives, a representative of the Böer family, and the Executive Director of the Trust.


  • 2015, Antonio Luque
    For inventing the intermediate band solar cell, which raises the efficiency limit from 41 percent to 63 percent.
  • 2013, Zhores I. Alferov and Viacheslav M. Andreev
    For their contributions to the investigation and development of semiconductor device technology and physics which have led to greater performance and efficiency of solar cells and arrays.
  • 2011, Richard M. Swanson
    For his innovation in the field of photovoltaics and for his tenure as president of SunPower Corporation.
  • 2009, Hermann Scheer
    For his long-lasting and worldwide commitment to the dissemination of solar energy.
  • 2007, Lawrence Kazmerski
    For his leadership in the field of solar electricity from its infancy.
  • 2005, Yoshihiro Hamakawa
    For his significant pioneering contributions to the development of high-efficiency thin-film solar cells and the advancement of solar photovoltaic science and technology as a clean energy source.
  • 2003, Martin A. Green
    For his innovative research efforts in the development of high performance crystalline silicon solar cell technology.
  • 2001, Allen M. Barnett
    For his pioneering high-performance, thin-crystalline silicon solar cells, and outstanding continuing service to the solar electric power community.
  • 1999, Stanford R. Ovshinsky
    For pioneering the science of amorphous semiconductors resulting in the development of low-cost thin-film silicon solar cells.
  • 1997, Adolf Goetzberger
    For his leadership in the international solar energy community, his research accomplishments and for founding the eminent Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems.
  • 1995, David E. Carlson
    For the discovery and commercial development of thin film amorphous silicon cells for converting sunlight to electrical energy.
  • 1993, President Jimmy Carter
    The one individual who, more than anyone else, spurred development and focused world attention on the relatively unknown technology for safe and environmentally sound energy production from the sun.

  • UDEI .: UD Energy Institute :.  •   University of Delaware   •   Newark, DE 19716   •   USA
    Phone: (302) 831-1363   •   E-mail: bhattimc@udel.edu   •   © 2013